Gardiner Haskins is the trading name of Gardiner Sons & Co Ltd, a privately owned independent company registered in Bristol in 1893. The company’s history stretches back even further to 1825 when the company was believed to have been first founded as a small blacksmith and ironmongery business in Bristol.
“Our mission is to be the consumer’s first choice for all their home improvement needs, delivering market leading branded products of outstanding quality with excellent customer service at competitive prices. Always proud to be different and embrace change, we create lifelong customer relationships through great teamwork, passion and commitment.”
Gardiner Sons & Co Ltd was registered in 1893, having then been trading for almost 70 years. Founded in in the 1820s the company started life as a blacksmith and ironmonger, making metal items for the Bristol public. By the time it was registered, it had several large factories producing all types of products from door handles to large iron gates for stately homes. In Victorian times Gardiners also made ranges, the cast iron equivalent to the modern kitchen range cookers the company still sells today. An example of one of these can be seen in the Blaise Castle Museum in Bristol, which Gardiners obtained during the 1980s for the museum’s collection.
One of Gardiner’s famous Victorian customers was Isambard Kingdom Brunel, who went to Gardiners for his drawing equipment and had the company make scale dividers to his own design. Engraved with ‘Gardiners Bristol’, this equipment now is held by the Brunel Institute, adjacent to the SS Great Britain in Bristol.
During the first quarter of the Twentieth Century, Gardiners was also involved in the manufacture of large metal structures, which included a feature for the entrance to the Festival of Britain and the steel structure inside the famous ‘Twin Towers’ of the old Wembley (Empire) Stadium built in 1923 and demolished in 2003 to make way for redevelopment.
Business started by Zacharia Cartwright.
Nephew, Emmanuel Chillcott and Alfred Gardiner take over under and expand Gardiner name.
Showrooms and offices open in Nelson Street, All Staints Street and Duck Lane.
Gardiner Sons and Co becomes a Limited company.
The Midland Ironworks in St Philips opens.
One famous customer in the nineteenth century who purchased brass drawing instruments whilst working on the Great Western Railway and SS Great Britain.
Purchased Queens Hotel on Whiteladies Road as additional showrooms.
Turned over production in Midland Road Ironworks to the war efforts.
Moved to current premises, Grade II listed Victorian factory building.
JH Haskins furniture and carpets was introduced and with a fast growing retail store it was re-named Gardiner Haskins.
The Broad Plain Bristol store was greatly extended to some 150,000 square feet of showrooms selling everything for the home. This was unique for it's time and, for many years, was the largest retail store in Bristol and visited by over 1 million customers each year.
Cirencester store opens.
Brunel garden centre opens.
Store celebrates it’s 190th anniversary
The Bristol store restructured its business to concentrate on kitchens, bathrooms and bedrooms, launching brand new, inspirational showrooms in its iconic Brunel Rooms building.
Gardiner and Sons Co Ltd registered address Gardiner Haskins, 1 Straight Street, Broad Plain, Bristol, BS2 0FQ, registered in England.
Company registration number: 00039402 VAT no. GB302974367